top of page

Customer Reviews



Just a note to say a huge thank you to you and  Nick for everything on Saturday night.

The food and the service were truly excellent and really helped make Kirsty’s birthday celebration weekend one that none of us will forget. It was a great experience all round.
Also thank you again for being so prompt in replying to me when I had any questions and for ensuring everything went so smoothly. You made everything so easy to organise.

 

David Hann

Wynford, Ambleside

February 2024

 

 

Thanks again Nick!

Nick Foster catered our New Year's dinner - for both us and our guests, and earlier on in the evening, for our seven children. Not only did we get delicious and fresh meals (which ended with, we all agreed, the most delicious sticky toffee pudding we've ever had), but we also didn't have to worry about tidying or washing up. A great experience, would highly recommend!

Benjamin Seidler and Stuart Vevers

Daweswood, Patterdale

January 2024

It was great to meet you and Nick and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the whole evening

 

We are a large  group of friends celebrating 50 years of friendship so what better way to do it than have Nick cook a delicious 3 course meal for us. The whole experience was just brilliant. From initial contact Nick was a pleasure to deal with and the amazing choice of starters, mains and desserts definitely meant we were able to choose options which appealed to everyone. There is something very special about having a professional chef cook a sublime meal just for us and a professional waiter serve it! Thanks so much to Nick (and Nick the waiter!) for making our special meal so very special and for making the whole evening one to remember.

 

Very best wishes from me and the rest of the party

Julia Hughes

Derwentwater House, Keswick

September 2023

Nick and his team catered at our wedding for 50 guests. They were incredibly professional from start to finish. Nick made us feel totally reassured throughout the day and him and his team were a pleasure to deal with. The canapés and 3 courses were delicious. Nick's menu choices were amazing & he was able to accommodate all of our guests dietary needs. Our guests were taken aback with the quality of the food & the standard of the service. Everything was so amazing and we plan to have Nick cater for our future events!

Tess & Vic

The Old Homestead, Cockermouth

September 2023

Nick and his team provided a very special meal, for a very special birthday! The night was seamless and the food was amazing! Nick and team created a wonderful evening of canapes and drinks, followed by a three course meal perfectly selected for our group! The service was impeccable, and you would not notice Nick and the team were even in the building. They were really discreet, and left the kitchen and dining room spotless on their way out. I would highly recommend Nick for any occasion! A great treat!

Clara Doonan

Alice Howe, Number 3 The terrace, Windermere

July 2023

Hi Nick,

 

Wonderful to meet you both on Saturday, we had a fantastic evening. We have been reflecting today on how relaxing the evening was and how we will be hopefully using your services again . 

 

We used Nick for a family celebration the food and service was spectacular meaning we could fully enjoy everyone’s company and the wine. We had one vegan amongst us and she was delighted with how she was catered for. Nick arrived promptly canopies and dinner followed timely throughout the evening and when they left you couldn’t tell anyone had been in the kitchen. Can’t recommend him enough and would definitely use his services again. 

 

Than you once again from us all.

 

Cathy & Sean 

June 2023

Wansfell Holme, Ambleside

Thank you Nick for our memorable evening, your food was excellent from the Canapés through to the dessert. All 14 of us loved the food served to us with style on the Wednesday Evening but we all also loved the food you prepared and dropped off for us on the day we arrived at Derwentwater House.
Many Thanks Once Again.

June 2023

Derwentwater House

Good evening Nick, 

Our Committee met this evening and top of the Agenda was last Friday's event. 

Feed back from those who attended the Supper reflected unanimous enjoyment and praise for the meal you provided but also the way you handled the problem with the cooker.

You have a great team who added to the success of the evening. 

Thank you for providing an excellent meal and hopefully we shall call upon your services in the future. 

 

Best regards, 

Roger Webster, 

May 2023

The Hill Village Hall, Millom

My 60th Birthday! What an amazing way to spend it!  The food was absolutely amazing, Thank you to both of you for making my 60th truly unforgettable, Thank you so much Nick and Emma.

One word...Amazing!!! from Jack 10 years old.

The James Family

April 2023

Mount Pleasant House, Threlkeld, Keswick

Delicious food! Superb service! A perfect way to celebrate Alan's 75th Birthday, even the fussy teenagers loved the food!  Thank you so much.

Julie and Alan Walker

April 2023

The Oaks, Bowness on Windermere

Thank you for an amazing meal! Fabulous service! Great food! Amazing hosting and an all round brilliant night!

We were celebrating  Jo's 50th Birthday, everyone had an amazing night, thank you so much and would highly recommend Nick Foster Catering.

The Doyle Family

March 2023

Derwentwater House, Keswick

We had the pleasure and of having Nick Foster cater our Ruby Wedding Anniversary on 9th December, 2022 in Ambleside for 12 family and friends. 

Thank you so much to you both for making my husbands 50th birthday so special and memorable. The food was so incredible and loved by every generation. An evening to remember!!

Love from the Mason's, Walkers and Wright's.

Helen Mason

March 2023

Tent Lodge, Coniston

Thank you so much Nick and Sophie! The food and service was amazing, everything from when we booked until the big night was seamless and extremely professional! We would recommend Nick Foster Catering to anyone hosting a special meal/occasion, it was delicious and loved by everyone.

Thank you for adding that something extra special to our night!

Anna McConachie

March 2023

Derwentwater House, Keswick

I can't rate Nick's service highly enough! from the initial point of contact to the absolutely faultless and memorable evening that he and his team provided.

We were a group of 12 celebrating a milestone birthday in the Lakes and from the moment Nick and his team arrived we didn't have to lift a finger, from the canape through to the puddings the delicious food and how it was  presented was absolutely first class!!

If you're looking for someone to cater for a special occasion then look no further as we couldn't recommend Nick's services highly enough!

Our sincerest thanks,

John and Helen

February 2023

Endymion House, Keswick

Nick and  Elmarie came to Derwentwater House for a birthday celebration and provided fifteen of us with the most wonderful food evening. There was an impressive menu choice, which was beautifully cooked and presented. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. it was such an unforgettable evening from start to finish, the delicious food, the service and leaving the kitchen and dining area immaculate.

Thanks again Nick, i hope we are back there some time to do it all again.

Jane Lee

February 2023

Derwentwater House, Keswick.

We had the pleasure and privilege of having Nick Foster cater our Ruby Wedding Anniversary on 9th December, 2022 in Ambleside for 12 family and friends. 

We were blown away by the quality and standard of his food and presentation, and the expertise and professionalism of his service.  

I cannot rate Nick highly enough and would have no hesitation in recommending

him to others for their private function.

Helen Gregory

December 2022

Wynford House, Ambleside

Nick and his Team did an absolutely fantastic job of the catering at our wedding in the Lake District. All our 150 guests were left raving about how delicious the food was; from the canapés, to the buffet, to the late-night pie and peas (which in particular went down a treat!). Nick and his staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the word go, and ran a really smooth operation on the day. Couldn't recommend them highly enough. 

Maddy and Steve

September 2022

Borrowdale Institute

Nick and Mark provided excellent service and food for an outdoor event involving 22 adults and 4 youngsters. We used their glassware although we were providing our own drinks. We also hung on to some of their crockery - which was just as well as we were still eating leftover food 3 days later! We would have no hesitation in using Nick Foster Outside Catering again in the future.

 

Paul Browning

June 2021

Elterwater Park Guest House

Just a quick note to say how much we all enjoyed our dinner party on Saturday night. The food was absolutely delicious, and the service was great - professional but friendly, which was spot on! You left everything spotless as well which really was the icing on the cake!

Sunday’s ready meals that you left for were also excellent, just what we needed to round off a lovely weekend. I would highly recommend both services to anyone planning a similar stay.

Hannah Crabtree

26th September 2020

Hause Hall Farm, Martindale (Rowley Estate)

Jane and I would just like to reiterate our thanks for your splendid catering last week. All of our guests, without exception, remarked on the tremendous quality, variety and sheer tastiness of your food. It really helped make our day special.

Our grateful thanks too, to Jamie the waiter, who was polite, unobtrusive and yet attentive and personable to all.

We’d be really happy to recommend you and if we need outside catering in the future we know where to come!

Thank you so very much

Howard and Jane Why

August 2020

We were lucky enough to experience Nick’s fantastic private chef experience at the weekend as a treat for my mum’s 60th birthday. Nick and waiter Nick were total professionals and the service from both was outstanding. I don’t even know how to begin to describe the food other than it was probably the best three course meal we’ve all ever had, every mouthful was sublime. It was really straightforward to arrange and they thought of everything to make sure we all had an incredible evening in the comfort of our own ‘rental’ home. Everybody needs to experience this, pure joy!

Meg Skinner

August 2020

Cleabarrow Cottage, Windermere

Nick provided the catering for my wife's 40th Birthday. We started with very tasty canapes and then an exceptional sit down meal. The service and quality of food provided by Nick can't be faulted. He  kept me informed all the way through to the big day, made choosing, ordering and paying easy and topped it off by being a thoroughly lovely bloke as well. Thanks Nick.

Matt Williams       

February 2020

Cleabarrow Cottage, Windermere

Thank you very much to Nick and his team for the first class service from start to finish, the canape and three course meal really was of the highest standard, can't wait until our next celebration to use Nick Foster Catering again!

 

Bill Groves

January 2020

Bristow Hill, Keswick

 

I

We are a group of sixty year olds celebrating our joint birthdays and many years of friendship. The meal you prepared for us was wonderful, particularly the canapés and the puddings. We would like to particularly commend your waitress who entered into the spirit of the evening perfectly and certainly kept us all in order. Your organisation pre event was efficient and easy and all in all we were very happy. Would thoroughly recommend you to others. Indeed if back in the Lakes for a similar event would certainly contact you again!

Sue Parsons     

May 2019

Glassonby Old Hall

I just wanted to say a very big thank you from the all of us who were staying at Derwentwater House last weekfor out ruby wedding celebration for the canape and super meal you prepared for us. Everything was super, and your food made that evening the real highlight for a very memorable week!

Peter from Buckinghamshire

May 2019

Derwentwater House

I just wanted to thank you so much for making Andy's surprise birthday dinner on Saturday such a great success, Everyone enjoyed it so much, especially Andy! i have left a comment in the Lodge's diary so hopefully you will get more clients at the Langdale Timeshare. i do think it's the perfect way to celebrate a special Birthday.

Thank you again and i'm now trying to think of other special occasions to celebrate that way in Cumbria.

Vivien Stocks

February 2019

Langdale Estate

We booked Nick to cater for us At a large house rental on the banks of Ullswater which we had hired for a family event for 13 of us. Nick’s communication was as pleasant as his menu choices and he was very flexible with allergies and dietary limitations that we had On the evening of the meal, we were treated like proper VIPs. I can’t praise Nick enough for his professionalism and it truly was like having a high class restaurant served at home. We also threw Nick a curve ball as we unexpectedly had an additional guest to cater for that we had not been able to tell Nick about in advance, but rather than us needing to share food for  an additional person, Nick created an extra 3 course meal on the fly which was equal in quality to what we had pre-ordered. I cannot recommend Nick highly enough, He is professional, flexible, accommodating, friendly and a very fine chef. If you want high class catering at your place, look no further.

Rob Midgley

29th Sept 2018

A great big thank you Nick and team, for the fantastic food and service given to our Birthday  party of 18 at Crow How Country Guest House Rydal last weekend.

The Friday night Lasagne and salad supper was perfect; allowing our guests to eat informally as they arrived. The pre-dinner canapés and 3 course dinner on Saturday were absolutely delicious, beautifully presented, and professionally served.

All in all a great dining experience, and one we would highly recommend to anyone looking to arrange a special personalised event.

Thank you all once again.

Linda, Rosemary and Guests.

28th April 2018

Waternook, Ullswater

 I just wanted to say thank you for a flawless piece of catering at The Old Holmestead,

 Cockermouth on the 17th. Everybody was impressed and all the meal was

 delicious and ample. Having arranged for caterers for many years at

 these get togethers, I know how rare it is for someone to actually

 listen to what I want and comply with my wishes, so full marks there as well.

 Many thanks also to our Waiter for the evening Mark. Nothing was too much trouble for him.

 I am instructed that we have to remain in your catchment area so maybe

 we will see you next Spring!

 Best wishes

 Sue Webster   March 2018

Oakdene, Sedbergh

What an incredible meal!

Nick and his team made my birthday night absolutely amazing

A delicious meal was quietly prepared in our kitchen while our extended family of 12 all relaxed around the house

Nicks team served Champagne and fantastic canapés (e.g. Asparagus in Cumbrian air-dried ham with a truffle hollandaise, Cartmel valley smoked salmon dill tartlets, Wild mushroom, Roast tomato goats cheese bruschetta, Yorkshire feta red onion marmalade tartlets---Wow!

3 guests had problems finding our house due to Sat Nav not working , our meal was delayed. No problem to Nick and his team .

A delicious meal was served in a lovely relaxing atmosphere ----far superior than any country house hotel. The menu was incredible---completely bespoke to our family’s favourites so everyone was really gastronomically satisfied

The final pleasure for me was to go to the kitchen and find it all sparkling clean and immaculate---Not a dish, glass or dirty pan in sight

It was as though the gastronomic fairies had been and had done their nights work------Magic!

A fabulous feast, professionally delivered

Very Best Wishes and Thank you very much

Ella Coackley

The White House in The Lakes

Thanks for making Colin's 60th birthday celebration a great success..

The food was fantastic and beautifully presented, and both you and Sarah worked really hard to ensure that everything ran smoothly.

We would highly recommend your service and attention to detail to anyone seeking a great personalised event.

 

Clare and Colin Chapman

 

 

 

"I organised my sister's hen in Windermere and wanted something different for our Saturday night activity. After a private tour on the lake and a very 'outdoorsy' day I knew a night in would be appreciated but wanted it to have the ultimate 'wow' factor. I contacted Nick who was extremely accommodating to our budget and really helped me maximise our private dining experience with what I had to work with. 

 

Not only was the food sublime (mushroom bruschetta with blue cheese and vine tomatoes to start, beef Wellington, dauphinois potatoes and seasonal veg for main, creme brûlée and gingerbread for dessert followed by local cheeses) Nick helped me set up the evening and was so, so helpful (including carrying a 8ft foldaway table up three flights of stairs as the apartment we rented had no table!). Our waitress was friendly and professional.  It was amazing to have two complete strangers simply fit in to such and intimate setting. We never once felt intruded upon or the need to change our conversation (I remind you it was a hen do!). 

 

The food itself was was locally sourced, seasonal and more importantly, extremely tasty! The presentation was impressive and would have fitted in to any top restaurant (and I've been to a few!). Overall, we seriously enjoyed the evening and it was personal to all our needs. We felt special, attended to and all the hens were so impressed with what we all felt to be a truly unique and different evening." 

 

'Jenny Cadman'

 

 

 

 

Thanks for the great food Nick. Langdale Ambleside Mountain Rescue Team are using Nick Foster Catering on a regular basis for our AGM meetings when the Team needs to be fed well ! and for other educational events that we host in our Ambleside base for teams across Cumbria. The pies and mushy peas are a must! We use Nick Foster Catering because the quality of the food is so good and the service that Nick provides is always spot on.

 

'Una Gordon' (Langdale and Ambleside Mountain Rescue) 

 

 

 

 

For our wedding, we wanted the food to be memorable, plentiful and special. Nick gave fantastic advice and tailored a menu that catered for all tastes, including great vegetarian options. Nick was very professional and also friendly and relaxed - the perfect blend for a very busy bride. We had the most perfect day and our guests still talk about the food! I would recommend Nick for any occasion.

 

''Joanna Haywood''

 

 

 

Many thanks for Catering at our Rotary Rally in Hawkshead. The 59 guests were delighted with the choice of 3 main courses and 3 desserts. So much so that every plate was clean with nothing left at the end.

It is obvious that Jam Rolly Polly was very popular with the men, and Pavlova a favourite with the Ladies.

Many thanks Nick for a first class presentation, we shall book you again next March.

 

''Ted Walmsley.......  International Caravanning Fellowship of Rotarians''

 

 

 

Nick's Kitchen were friendly and extremely helpful from start to finish when it came to catering for our wedding. Nick listened to what we wanted and came up with a personalised menu to fit ours and our guests needs which we got to try beforehand. He was always available along the way to ask any questions or allay any concerns we had. We both love food and care about ethicality, locality and of course taste so it was really important to have someone who understood this which Nick did. The taste of the food was fantastic as was the presentation, we had lots of lovely comments from our guests which was fantastic to hear (especially as some of them are real foodies). Nick and his staff worked in challenging conditions in a small village hall but this was not apparent to us or our guests, I'm not sure what it was like in that kitchen but to us outside it couldn't have been smoother. We can't thank Nick's Kitchen enough for their excellent service and helping to make our wedding day perfect.

 

Nick & Steph

October 2015

 

 

 

 

Nick Catered a small informal 50th Birthday celebration, everything went wonderfully well, a lovely menu, fantastic food and wonderful service waitress service from Sarah. A perfect evening which will live long in the memory, and which was the perfect way to round off the week of celebrations. i will have no hesitation in booking Nick in the future. Thanks Nick and Sarah.

 

''Andrew Price''

 

 

 

 

This October will be the third year running that we have had a family dinner catered for by Nick at Kirkbeck House in Coniston. He provides superb service with a pleasant imformality. There is a good choice and everything is cooked to perfection. We have quite a few grandchildren from a baby to 8 years old and he caters for them separately an hour or so before the adults. Our family enjoyed the first two occasions (special birthdays) so much that they asked that we make it an annual family event.

 

We cannot recommend Nick too highly!

 

''David and Susan Gee''

 

 

 

 

The whole service provided by Nick's Kitchen was beyond reproach. 

We were celebrating a big family birthday, catering for about 30 adults. Nick's menu including canapés was varied and delicious. Nick made helpful recommendations, catered for various food intolerances and was very accessible and responsive by email, leading up to the party.

Nick was supported by a small team of delightful waitresses and a fellow chef, who catered for all our dining needs on the night of the party.

The cost of the dinner was extremely competitive. I would have no hesitation in using his services again or in recommending him to others.

 

''Kate Burns, North Shields, April 2016''

 

 

 

 

 

We have worked with Nick for a number of years and use him exclusivelyfor all of our weddings, private parties and events at Nanny Brow. He works with our clients to ensure all their dietary requirements and menu aspirations are met. We receive exemplary reviews and comments from our guests about the quality, and professionalism of Nick and are always keen for our guests to sample Nick's culinary delights.

 

''Sue Robinson'' Nanny Brow Luxury Bed and Breakfast, Ambleside

 

 

 

 

 

 

After being recommended Nick we worked closely with him to create our dream wedding food. We had canapés after the ceremony followed by a three course sit down meal for our wedding breakfast. The canapés and each of the courses were fantastic and suited all taste buds. Nick helped us to design a menu to include our favourite dishes within our budget. Nick and his team adapted well to serving canapes at our home and then serving our wedding breakfast at Ambleside Parish Centre. The service and food was impeccable and I can’t thank them enough for everything they did to help make our day so special.

 

 

''Robinson and Hallam Wedding''

 

 

bottom of page