Customer Reviews

 

 

I

We are a group of sixty year olds celebrating our joint birthdays and many years of friendship. The meal you prepared for us was wonderful, particularly the canapés and the puddings. We would like to particularly commend your waitress who entered into the spirit of the evening perfectly and certainly kept us all in order. Your organisation pre event was efficient and easy and all in all we were very happy. Would thoroughly recommend you to others. Indeed if back in the Lakes for a similar event would certainly contact you again!

Sue Parsons

May 2019

I just wanted to say a very big thank you from the all of us who were staying at Derwentwater House last weekfor out ruby wedding celebration for the canape and super meal you prepared for us. Everything was super, and your food made that evening the real highlight for a very memorable week!

Peter from Buckinghamshire

May 2019

I just wanted to thank you so much for making Andy's surprise birthday dinner on Saturday such a great success, Everyone enjoyed it so much, especially Andy! i have left a comment in the Lodge's diary so hopefully you will get more clients at the Langdale Timeshare. i do think it's the perfect way to celebrate a special Birthday.

Thank you again and i'm now trying to think of other special occasions to celebrate that way in Cumbria.

Vivien Stocks

February 2019

We booked Nick to cater for us At a large house rental on the banks of Ullswater which we had hired for a family event for 13 of us. Nick’s communication was as pleasant as his menu choices and he was very flexible with allergies and dietary limitations that we had On the evening of the meal, we were treated like proper VIPs. I can’t praise Nick enough for his professionalism and it truly was like having a high class restaurant served at home. We also threw Nick a curve ball as we unexpectedly had an additional guest to cater for that we had not been able to tell Nick about in advance, but rather than us needing to share food for  an additional person, Nick created an extra 3 course meal on the fly which was equal in quality to what we had pre-ordered. I cannot recommend Nick highly enough, He is professional, flexible, accommodating, friendly and a very fine chef. If you want high class catering at your place, look no further.

Rob Midgley

29th Sept 2018

A great big thank you Nick and team, for the fantastic food and service given to our Birthday  party of 18 at Crow How Country Guest House Rydal last weekend.

The Friday night Lasagne and salad supper was perfect; allowing our guests to eat informally as they arrived. The pre-dinner canapés and 3 course dinner on Saturday were absolutely delicious, beautifully presented, and professionally served.

All in all a great dining experience, and one we would highly recommend to anyone looking to arrange a special personalised event.

Thank you all once again.

Linda, Rosemary and Guests.

28th April 2018

 I just wanted to say thank you for a flawless piece of catering at The Old Holmestead,

 Cockermouth on the 17th. Everybody was impressed and all the meal was

 delicious and ample. Having arranged for caterers for many years at

 these get togethers, I know how rare it is for someone to actually

 listen to what I want and comply with my wishes, so full marks there as well.

 Many thanks also to our Waiter for the evening Mark. Nothing was too much trouble for him.

 I am instructed that we have to remain in your catchment area so maybe

 we will see you next Spring!

 Best wishes

 Sue Webster   March 2018

What an incredible meal!

Nick and his team made my birthday night absolutely amazing

A delicious meal was quietly prepared in our kitchen while our extended family of 12 all relaxed around the house

Nicks team served Champagne and fantastic canapés (e.g. Asparagus in Cumbrian air-dried ham with a truffle hollandaise, Cartmel valley smoked salmon dill tartlets, Wild mushroom, Roast tomato goats cheese bruschetta, Yorkshire feta red onion marmalade tartlets---Wow!

3 guests had problems finding our house due to Sat Nav not working , our meal was delayed. No problem to Nick and his team .

A delicious meal was served in a lovely relaxing atmosphere ----far superior than any country house hotel. The menu was incredible---completely bespoke to our family’s favourites so everyone was really gastronomically satisfied

The final pleasure for me was to go to the kitchen and find it all sparkling clean and immaculate---Not a dish, glass or dirty pan in sight

It was as though the gastronomic fairies had been and had done their nights work------Magic!

A fabulous feast, professionally delivered

Very Best Wishes and Thank you very much

Ella Coackley

Thanks for making Colin's 60th birthday celebration a great success..

The food was fantastic and beautifully presented, and both you and Sarah worked really hard to ensure that everything ran smoothly.

We would highly recommend your service and attention to detail to anyone seeking a great personalised event.

 

Clare and Colin Chapman

 

 

 

"I organised my sister's hen in Windermere and wanted something different for our Saturday night activity. After a private tour on the lake and a very 'outdoorsy' day I knew a night in would be appreciated but wanted it to have the ultimate 'wow' factor. I contacted Nick who was extremely accommodating to our budget and really helped me maximise our private dining experience with what I had to work with. 

 

Not only was the food sublime (mushroom bruschetta with blue cheese and vine tomatoes to start, beef Wellington, dauphinois potatoes and seasonal veg for main, creme brûlée and gingerbread for dessert followed by local cheeses) Nick helped me set up the evening and was so, so helpful (including carrying a 8ft foldaway table up three flights of stairs as the apartment we rented had no table!). Our waitress was friendly and professional.  It was amazing to have two complete strangers simply fit in to such and intimate setting. We never once felt intruded upon or the need to change our conversation (I remind you it was a hen do!). 

 

The food itself was was locally sourced, seasonal and more importantly, extremely tasty! The presentation was impressive and would have fitted in to any top restaurant (and I've been to a few!). Overall, we seriously enjoyed the evening and it was personal to all our needs. We felt special, attended to and all the hens were so impressed with what we all felt to be a truly unique and different evening." 

 

'Jenny Cadman'

 

 

 

 

Thanks for the great food Nick. Langdale Ambleside Mountain Rescue Team are using Nick Foster Catering on a regular basis for our AGM meetings when the Team needs to be fed well ! and for other educational events that we host in our Ambleside base for teams across Cumbria. The pies and mushy peas are a must! We use Nick Foster Catering because the quality of the food is so good and the service that Nick provides is always spot on.

 

'Una Gordon' (Langdale and Ambleside Mountain Rescue) 

 

 

 

 

For our wedding, we wanted the food to be memorable, plentiful and special. Nick gave fantastic advice and tailored a menu that catered for all tastes, including great vegetarian options. Nick was very professional and also friendly and relaxed - the perfect blend for a very busy bride. We had the most perfect day and our guests still talk about the food! I would recommend Nick for any occasion.

 

''Joanna Haywood''

 

 

 

Many thanks for Catering at our Rotary Rally in Hawkshead. The 59 guests were delighted with the choice of 3 main courses and 3 desserts. So much so that every plate was clean with nothing left at the end.

It is obvious that Jam Rolly Polly was very popular with the men, and Pavlova a favourite with the Ladies.

Many thanks Nick for a first class presentation, we shall book you again next March.

 

''Ted Walmsley.......  International Caravanning Fellowship of Rotarians''

 

 

 

Nick's Kitchen were friendly and extremely helpful from start to finish when it came to catering for our wedding. Nick listened to what we wanted and came up with a personalised menu to fit ours and our guests needs which we got to try beforehand. He was always available along the way to ask any questions or allay any concerns we had. We both love food and care about ethicality, locality and of course taste so it was really important to have someone who understood this which Nick did. The taste of the food was fantastic as was the presentation, we had lots of lovely comments from our guests which was fantastic to hear (especially as some of them are real foodies). Nick and his staff worked in challenging conditions in a small village hall but this was not apparent to us or our guests, I'm not sure what it was like in that kitchen but to us outside it couldn't have been smoother. We can't thank Nick's Kitchen enough for their excellent service and helping to make our wedding day perfect.

 

Nick & Steph

October 2015

 

 

 

 

Nick Catered a small informal 50th Birthday celebration, everything went wonderfully well, a lovely menu, fantastic food and wonderful service waitress service from Sarah. A perfect evening which will live long in the memory, and which was the perfect way to round off the week of celebrations. i will have no hesitation in booking Nick in the future. Thanks Nick and Sarah.

 

''Andrew Price''

 

 

 

 

This October will be the third year running that we have had a family dinner catered for by Nick at Kirkbeck House in Coniston. He provides superb service with a pleasant imformality. There is a good choice and everything is cooked to perfection. We have quite a few grandchildren from a baby to 8 years old and he caters for them separately an hour or so before the adults. Our family enjoyed the first two occasions (special birthdays) so much that they asked that we make it an annual family event.

 

We cannot recommend Nick too highly!

 

''David and Susan Gee''

 

 

 

 

The whole service provided by Nick's Kitchen was beyond reproach. 

We were celebrating a big family birthday, catering for about 30 adults. Nick's menu including canapés was varied and delicious. Nick made helpful recommendations, catered for various food intolerances and was very accessible and responsive by email, leading up to the party.

Nick was supported by a small team of delightful waitresses and a fellow chef, who catered for all our dining needs on the night of the party.

The cost of the dinner was extremely competitive. I would have no hesitation in using his services again or in recommending him to others.

 

''Kate Burns, North Shields, April 2016''

 

 

 

 

 

We have worked with Nick for a number of years and use him exclusivelyfor all of our weddings, private parties and events at Nanny Brow. He works with our clients to ensure all their dietary requirements and menu aspirations are met. We receive exemplary reviews and comments from our guests about the quality, and professionalism of Nick and are always keen for our guests to sample Nick's culinary delights.

 

''Sue Robinson'' Nanny Brow Luxury Bed and Breakfast, Ambleside

 

 

 

 

 

 

After being recommended Nick we worked closely with him to create our dream wedding food. We had canapés after the ceremony followed by a three course sit down meal for our wedding breakfast. The canapés and each of the courses were fantastic and suited all taste buds. Nick helped us to design a menu to include our favourite dishes within our budget. Nick and his team adapted well to serving canapes at our home and then serving our wedding breakfast at Ambleside Parish Centre. The service and food was impeccable and I can’t thank them enough for everything they did to help make our day so special.

 

 

''Robinson and Hallam Wedding''